Past Award Winners


1987  Clifford E. Germain

1989  Dr. Robert E. Jenkins

1990  Jerry F. Franklin

1991  Charles A. Wellner

1993  Dr. Richard Goodwin

1994  William Barnes

1995  Dr. Alton A. Lindsay and John Wylie Chief, Natural History Division, Missouri Department of Conservation

1996  The Prairie Triad pioneers of prairie preservation in northern Illinois:

   Robert Betz, The Prairie Prophet

   Ray Schulenberg, The Prairie Practitioner

   Floyd Swink, The Prairie Patriarch

1997  Dr. Robert E. Frenkel

1998  Dr. Edward G. Voss

 Bertha Daubendick

1999  The Babbit Family

2000  John Schwegman

2001  Margaret Hames

2002  W. Leon Neel

2003  Wilbur Mayhew

2004  James Bissell

2005  John Humke

2006  Charles Van Riper III

2007  John Bacone

2008  Elsie Quarterman

2009  Hal DeSelm

2010  David Brunckhorst

2011  Richard Thom

2012  Joan Seevers

2013  Fran Harty

2014  Paul Knoop

2015  Sylvia Taylor

2016  John O. Sawyer

2017  Larry Smith

2018 William (Bill) Weeks

2019 Reed Noss


2001  Monterey Pine Forest Watch

2002  Dr. Dennis Nyberg

2003  Wilton Wildlife Preserve and Park

2004  Humboldt Bay National Wildlife Refuge, Keith and Mary Blackmore

2005  Okefenokee Wildlife League (OWL)

2006  Wilton Wildlife Preserve and Park, Diablo Trust, Albany Pine Bush Preserve Commission

2007  Jeff Krause

2008  Gary Milano

2009  None

2010  Joe Woolbright

2011  Brevard County Environmentally Endangered Lands Program

2012  Southern Illinois Invasives Strike Team

2013  The Stewardship Network

2014  Lee Casebere

2015  Martin Blaney

2016  Jenny Cruse-Sanders

2017  Bill Kleiman

2018  Joyce Bender

2019 Mentor Marsh Stewardship Team, Cleveland Museum of Natural History


Join the people who protect and manage our natural areas.