2020 Conference Schedule

Schedule by date*


October 1

Natural Areas Conference Portal opens

Tuesday, October 13

  • Welcome by Lisa Smith, Executive Director of NAA

9:00 a.m. PDT/12:00 p.m. EDT

  • Vicki Christiansen, Chief, Department of Agriculture's Forest Service - Shared Stewardship: Meeting Shared Challenges Across Shared Landscapes

9:30 a.m. PDT/12:30 p.m. EDT   Live Plenary

  • Lenya Quinn-Davidson,  Area Fire Advisor, University of California Cooperative Extension and Director, Northern California Prescribed Fire Council - The Fire Problem is a Cultural Problem
  • Steve Jackson, Director, Southwest and South Central Climate Adaptation Science Centers and Adjunct Professor of Geosciences and Natural Resources and Environment, University of Arizona - Ecological Transformation and Ecological Novelty: Past, Present, Future
  • Q&A with Lenya Quinn-Davidson and Steve Jackson

20 Minute Break

10:50 a.m. PDT/ 1:50 p.m. EDT

12:50 p.m. PDT/ 3:50 p.m. EDT

Exhibit Hall featuring a Job Outreach Event in the USDA Forest Service's booth

Wednesday, October 14

9:00 a.m. PDT/ 12:00 p.m. EDT

15 Minute Break

10:45 a.m. PDT/ 1:45 p.m. EDT

  • Live Networking with Topical Matchmaking and Exhibit Hall

11:45 a.m.PDT/ 2:45 p.m. EDT

1:30 p.m. PDT/ 4:30 p.m. EDT

  • Networking Lounge is open 

Thursday, October 15

9:00 a.m. PDT/ 12:00 p.m. EDT  Live Plenary 

  • Ben Goldfarb, Journalist and author of the award-winning book, Eager: The Surprising Secret Lives of Beavers and Why They Matter, presents Dam It: Partnering With Beavers to Achieve Restoration Goals

15 Minute Break

9:55 a.m. PDT/ 12:55 p.m. EDT

  • Poster Presentations and Exhibit Hall

11:15 a.m. PDT/ 2:15 p.m. EDT

15 Minute Break

12:30 p.m. PDT/ 3:30 p.m. EDT

1:15 p.m. PDT/ 4:15 p.m. EDT

  • Live Aspen Discussion Forum

2:00 p.m. PDT/ 5:00 p.m. EDT

  • Networking Lounge open

Friday, October 16

9:00 a.m. PDT/ 12:00 p.m. EDT

Stewards' Circles

NAC20 features a wide variety of presentations representing tremendous knowledge and experience. It is a testament to the incredible scientific endeavors by our community of practitioners and academics. While we can‘t be face-to-face with opportunities for impromptu gatherings and casual exchange, NAC20 would not be complete without an opportunity for peers to dig deeper in to topics of common interest. To that end, the Stewards' Circles will feature facilitated, yet informal, opportunities to dive deeper into subjects of mutual interest.  Share your own thoughts, challenges, and successes as you reflect on the presentations. This is an opportunity to exchange ideas with both pre-recorded and live speakers who will be available to answer questions or expand upon their projects. This is a time to relax, connect and learn from each other. Bring your favorite beverage and/or snack and join us!

9 a.m. /12 p.m. Stewards' Circles

Circle 1

Managing Fire Regimes in a Changing World (Good fire/Bad fire)



Circle 2

Invasive Species Management - New and Effective Approaches

Circle 3

Pollinator Considerations in Natural Areas Management

Circle 4

Communicating the Importance of Our Work

10 a.m./1 p.m. Stewards' Circles

Circle 1 

Technology in Natural Areas Conservation



Circle 2

Natural Areas Management in Light of Climate Chang 

Circle 3

Forest Restoration

Circle 4

Collaborative Approaches to Conservation - Public/Private Partnerships

11 a.m./2 p.m. Stewards' Circles

Circle 1

Rare Species Conservation



Circle 2

Development and Use of Native Seed in Natural Areas Management

Circle 3

Beavers as a Restoration Tool

12:00 p.m. PDT/ 3:00 p.m. EDT

  • And Now for Something Completely Different... Microbrews: Science and Sustainability. Details coming soon.

1:00 p.m. PDT/ 2:00 p.m. EDT

  • Conference week closes, but please don't forget, we have four more symposia in the coming weeks, plus our on-demand content and all symposia recorded live this week will still be available on the Natural Areas Conference Platform. 

Tuesday, October 20

9:00 a.m. PDT/ 12:00 p.m. EDT  - 11:00 a.m. PDT/ 2:00 p.m. EDT

Thursday, October 22

9:00 a.m. PDT/ 12:00 p.m. EDT  - 11:00 a.m. PDT/ 2:00 p.m. EDT

Thursday, October 29

9:00 a.m. PDT/ 12:00 p.m. EDT  - 11:00 a.m. PDT/ 2:00 p.m. EDT

Tuesday, November 3

9:00 a.m. PST/ 12:00 p.m. EST  - 12:30 p.m. PST/ 3:30 p.m. EST

*Schedule is subject to change

Thank you to our conference sponsors 

JOIN US

Join the people who protect and manage our natural areas.